We are proud to offer this award to recognise innovations in medical education. The award has been established to recognise an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to undergraduate, postgraduate, or continuing medical education at a local, national, regional, or international level. 
The Ian Hart award is made every two years at the Ottawa conference.

Details on how to apply are available here

The Award

The Ian Hart Award for Innovation in Medical Education has been made possible through the support of the Hart family and AMEE.

The awardee received is a prize of US$4000, and free registration for the upcoming Ottawa Conference. He/she is also invited to make an oral presentation at the conference.

The winner will be selected from the applications received by an international panel of leaders in medical education. Individuals can be nominated or be self-nominated and require a letter of support from a sponsor.

Ian Hart

Professor Ian Hart was a leader in medical education with an international reputation. He made a significant contribution to advancing medical education in Canada, including founding the Canadian Association for Medical Education (CAME). He played a major role internationally in advancing approaches to the training of doctors, and was responsible, along with Ronald Harden, for creating the Ottawa Conference, which had as its aim the provision of an international forum for exchanging ideas and developments in the field of evaluating clinical competence. 


Appointment of the 2024 Conference Programme Chair

Jen Cleland has been appointed as the Programme Chair of the AMEE 2024 Conference.


Winners of the 2023 Faculty Development Research Grant Announced

We are delighted to announce the recipients of the AMEE 2023 Faculty Development Research Grant.